Transylvania University Presidents Collection,ca. 1791?-1994? (bulk 1930-1982)

Descriptive Summary

Transylvania University Presidents Collection,ca. 1791?-1994? (bulk 1930-1982)
Transylvania University
8.4 cubic ft. and 4 v.
Bascom, H. B. (Henry Bidleman), 1796-1850
Blythe, James, 1765-1842.
Bowman, John B., 1824-1891.
Braden, Arthur, b. 1881.
Campbell, Elmer.
Cave, Reuben Lin.
Coit, Thomas Winthrop, b. 1803.
Crossfield, Richard Henry, 1868-1951.
Davidson, Robert, 1808-1876.
Dodd, James B., 1807-1872.
Green, Lewis Warner, 1806-1863.
Harmon, Andrew D., b. 1871.
Jenkins, Burris, 1869-1945.
Kelly, William W.
Loos, Charles Louis, 1823-1920.
Lunger, Irvin E.
Lutz, John, fl. 1810-1841.
Macartney, Thomas B., 1875-1929.
Marshall, Louis, 1773-1866.
McLain, Raymond.
Milligan, Alexander R., 1842?-1913.
Milligan, R. (Robert), 1814-1875.
Moore, James, 1764-1814.
Peers, Benjamin Orr, 1800-1842.
Rose, Frank A.
Shearer, Charles L., 1943-.
Toulmin, Harry, 1766-1823.
White, Henry H., 1821-1903.
Woods, Alva, 1794-1887.
College of the Bible (Lexington, Ky.) -Presidents.
Kentucky University -- Presidents.
Transylvania Seminary -- Presidents.
Transylvania University -- Presidents.
College presidents -- Kentucky -- Lexington.
Education, Higher -- Kentucky -- Lexington.
Theological seminaries -- Kentucky -- Lexington.
Universities and colleges -- Kentucky --Lexington
Finding Aid Author
Processed by: staff; machine-readable finding aid created by:Bonnie Cox
Transylvania University

Collection Overview

Biography / History
The following men served as President of Transylvania Seminary (1791-1799) and Transylvania University (1799-1858): James Moore (1791-1794, 1796-1804), Harry Toulmin (1794-1796), James Blythe (1804-1816), Horace Holley (1818-1827), Alva Woods (1828-1831), Benjamin Orr Peers (1832-1834), John Lutz [Mansfield] (1834-1835), Thomas Winthrop Coit (1835-1837), Louis Marshall (1838-1839), Robert Davidson (1840-1842), Henry Bidleman Bascom (1842-1849), James B. Dodd (1849-1855), and Lewis Warner Green (1856-1858). The following men served as President of Kentucky University (1859-1908): Robert Milligan (1859-1865), John B. Bowman (1865-1871), Henry Hall White (1878-1880), Charles Louis Loos (1880-1897), Reuben Lin Cave (1897-1900), Alexander Reed Milligan (1900-1901), Burris Atkins Jenkins (1901-1906), and Thomas Benton Macartney (1906-1908). Presidents of Transylvania University in the twentieth century include the following: Richard Henry Crossfield (1908-1921, 1938-1939), Thomas Benton Macartney (1921-1922, 1928-1929), Andrew Davidson Harmon (1922-1928), Elmer Grant Campbell (1929-1930), Arthur Braden (1930-1938), Raymond Francis McLain (1939-1943, 1946-1951), Frank A. Rose (1951-1957), Irvin E. Lunger (1958-1976, 1981-1982), William W. Kelly (1976-1981), and Charles L. Shearer (1983- ).
Scope and Content
This is a collection of original documents and materials collected from secondary sources which document the tenure of the presidents of Transylvania University and its affiliated institutions including the College of the Bible. All presidents are represented with the exception of Horace Holley (For Holley materials see KYSX93-A36). The majority of the collection documents administrations from 1930 through 1982. Files typically include biographical information and fragmentary correspondence. Other materials may include reports to the board of curators; speeches, including inaugrual addresses; press releases; and photographs. In addition to the administration of the university, the collection includes specific information on fundraising and the library. Unpublished catalog of holdings. Variant title: Transylvania University. Administration. President. Condition of material: fair (acid damage).